top of page
Board Supervisor Elections

Each conservation district (CD) in Washington is governed by a board of five members, called supervisors. Three are elected locally by the public, and two are appointed by the Conservation Commission. At least two of the elected and one of the appointed supervisors must be local landowners or operators of a farm. The term of office is three years. Supervisors serve without compensation — they are volunteers.


Public Notice of Election and Polling Site - San Juan Islands Conservation District Public

A poll-site election for a board seat on the San Juan Islands Conservation District will be held on March 30, 2023 at 530 Guard Street, Friday Harbor. Polls will open at 9am and close at 3pm. Registered voters who reside within the Conservation District boundary of San Juan County are eligible to vote. Mail-in ballots can be requested from San Juan Islands Conservation District Finance Manager Tony Fyrqvist, 530 Guard Street,, 360-378-6621. The last day and time that an eligible voter can request a mail-in ballot from the District is March 16, 2023 at 4pm. If a voter is returning a ballot by mail, the voter must account for the time it will take for the ballot to be returned to the district by mail. Ballots returned by mail must be post-marked no later than March 23, 2022. Ballots returned by other means must be returned to 530 Guard Street no later than 3pm on Election Day, March 30, 2023. Information available at

Public Notice of Vacancy for Board of Supervisors Elected Position #1 - San Juan Islands Conservation District. Information available at Interested candidates for this vacancy must be registered voters residing in San Juan County. Candidates for this vacancy may be required to be landowners or operators of a farm, based on the current composition of the District board of supervisors. The filing deadline for interested candidates to file their candidate required information is February 27, 2023 at 4pm (postmarked no later than February 20, 2023). Interested candidates must file their candidate required information, Form PF-A available at in person at 530 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, WA 98250; or by mail to PO Box 1728, Friday Harbor 98250; or by email to Elections procedures are available at the district office. Please contact Tony Fyrqvist at the District office at 360-378-6621 if you have any questions.


Public Notice of Vacancy for Board of Supervisors Appointed Position #5 - San Juan Islands Conservation District Public. Information available at A board seat on the San Juan Islands Conservation District is available for appointment by the Washington State Conservation Commission. Conservation district board supervisors are public officials who serve without compensation and set policy and direction for the conservation district. An applicant must be a registered voter in Washington State and may be required to own land or operate a farm. Applicants for appointed positions do not have to live within the district to apply. For more information or to apply, please contact the San Juan Islands Conservation District by emailing Applications and supporting materials must be received by the district no later than March 15, 2023.

Interested in running for a position on the SJICD board?

Would you like to be considered for an appointed position on SJICD's board of supervisors?


More information

bottom of page